The Agent’s Dilemma 8

Maya decided to go to Richard’s room as Manang Fe was now in their room taking care of Luke. He was now sleeping so Maya took the chance to go out of the room. He was now outside her former fiance’s room but she was starting to have some misgivings. Was she doing the right thing? She knew it was nobody’s fault that he and Richard had parted ways. She knew that now but how could she face the man she had wronged? She knew she wanted to turn back and run but before she could do so Richard opened the door and was surprise to see her standing there.

Maya, he stammered. Is everything all alright?, and it was then when she saw a mini-revolver on his pocket. She sighs as she realizes that she had spooked him so she told him that she just wanted to talk to him. He suddenly eased up and she laughed. He smiled then and told her to follow him. She obliges and was surprised to be led to a secret place in the garden. She knew she had not seen the place before and Richard explained that it was his sanctuary. Maya was surprise but after she was seated Richard asked her what she wanted to talk about.

She told him that she wanted to talk about their past. Richard was stunned as he never expected Maya to open the topic again. Was Maya trying to torture him? He glanced at his former fiancée and asked: Why are you doing this Maya? Maya was surprised as she thought her actions were pretty obvious and then she remembered. She was dealing with Mr. Dense himself. She smiled then but her surprise Richard noticed it and asked. She laughed then and explained.

Richard was puzzled until Maya practically told him that she was still helplessly in love with him. Richard was stunned with the revelation but when he recovered he had kissed Maya on the lips and promised that he would take better care of her this time. Maya smiled then as Richard wraps around his arms around her. They were still cuddled in each other’s arms when both decided to tell one another what transpired during the three years of their separation.

Maya decided to go first as she informs Richard that her marriage to Simon was more of a marriage of convenience type than a real one. Richard was confused until Maya explained that Simon was more of a business partner than a lover. She explains that Simon was an orphan and was only being taken cared of by relatives however when he had gotten sick his relatives had abused him. Luckily a loyal friend who happens to be also his accountant manage to uncover the treachery before it was too late. He had told Simon about it and as expected he had gotten furious so without his family’s knowledge he had changed his will after he had asked me to help him. That time I had just separated from you and learned that I was pregnant so I told Simon this. We made a deal then. He becomes a father to Luke and he temporarily transfers his assets to me and my son. Richard got confused and Maya explained that Simon wanted them to be facilitator of his money and at the same time help them in their daily existence. Richard then asked: What happened then Maya? Maya grew sad then as she continued.

His adopted parents had gotten furious when they learned that Simon had changed his will but to my surprise they didn’t do anything. I thought everything was fine as I never heard from them again but when Simon died that was the time things started to change. At first the changes was minimal but I ignored it as they tell me that Simon had already approved the move prior to his illness. Little did I know that they had already installed some of their men inside Simon’s company and without my knowledge they had manage to steal the company from me. I knew I was not hurt because I lost the company but I was devastated because I knew I failed my husband and friend. With the company gone I thought they would stop and leave us alone but to my dismay, they still wanted more. She glanced at Richard then as she continued: They had managed to convince the court to subpoena me if I do not release the money in their favor. I knew then that I had no choice because my father-in-law had already warned me that if I don’t allow the transfer the said amount, he would hurt Luke and I knew that he would not hesitate to do what he had threatened.

Leave a comment